** Commencement 2024 Information **

** Commencement 2024 Information **

Action and Information Items | Academic Affairs Documents | Academic Affairs Meeting MinutesFaculty Senate Meeting MinutesGeneral Faculty Meeting Minutes | Faculty Resources | Faculty Senate Strategic PlanFaculty Senate Committees

The Faculty Senate is the primary way that faculty participate in university governance. It is elected in accordance with its own constitution that appears in the Faculty Handbook and approved by the Highlands Board of Regents. To carry out its responsibility, the Faculty Senate and its subcommittees meet on a regular basis. Meetings of the Faculty Senate are scheduled between 3 and 5 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month, while classes are in session.

The Office of the Faculty Senate is:
Lora Shields 213
Telephone: 505-426-2004

ZOOM link for Faculty Senate: http://nmhu.zoom.us/j/3145944449

The Faculty Senate at New Mexico Highlands University has the following authority, responsibility and functions:

  • To initiate and review policies which affect the faculty at Highlands
  • To make studies and offer recommendations and advisory opinions on any matters germane to the welfare of the faculty and students
  • To create, update, distribute and permit electronic access to the 澳门十大正规网投平台 Faculty Handbook.
  • To elect members to certain committees
  • To create ad hoc committees to study, investigate and make recommendations on matters that concern the well being of the faculty

For additional information relating to faculty, please see the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

Members of the Faculty Senate for the 2023-24 academic year are:

Chair: Lauren Fath – English & Philosophy

Vice Chair: Rebecca Alvarez – Sociology, Anthropology, & CJ

Secretary: Jennifer Lindline – Natural Resources Management

Executive Committee At-Large: Mariana Ulibarri-Horan – Special Education

Executive Committee At-Large: Kathy Jenkins – Exercise & Sport Sciences

Executive Committee At-Large: Rebecca Moore –  Social Work

Art & Music: Edward Harrington

Biology: VACANT

Business Administration: Gerardo Moreira

Chemistry: VACANT

Computer & Mathematical Sciences: Gil Gallegos

Counseling: Sulema Perales

Education; Curriculum & Instruction: KwangJong Park

Education; Educational Leadership: Rod Rock

Education; Teacher Education: Angela Redondo

Forestry: Blanca Cespedes

History & Political Science: Steven Williams

Languages & Culture: Norma Valenzuela

Library: Katie Gray

Media Arts & Technology:  Mariah Fox-Hausman

Nursing: Siri Khalsa

Psychology: Thomas Brooks

President: Sam Minner – Ex Officio

Provost/VPAA: Roxanne Gonzales-Walker – Ex Officio

Staff Senate: Robert Anaya – Non-Voting

Student Senate: Kayl Rainer – Non-Voting